Political Organization 

The Grand Coulee Project Hydroelectric Authority was created and organized by the Districts in 1982 in the manner set forth in Title 87.03.018 of The Revised Code of Washington and is a separate legal entity.  The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission determined that the Authority is a municipality within the meaning of Section 3(7) of the Federal Power Act (FERC Docket EL 83-10-000) and the Internal Revenue Service determined that the Authority is entitled to treatment as a local government for purpose of the tax-exemption of interest on revenue bonds issued or assumed by it.

On March 26, 2015, the Board of Directors of the Grand Coulee Project Hydroelectric Authority approved changing the Authority's name to Columbia Basin Hydropower.  During the Irrigation Districts April Board Meetings, each District approved the name change.  Resolution 2015-07 dated June 23, 2015 confirmed the name change to Columbia Basin Hydropower (CB Hydropower) effective July 1, 2015.   

Columbia Basin Hydropower is governed by a  Board of six Directors.  Each District appoints two members to the Board and each member must be a Director of the District.  Each Board member is appointed at the first regular meeting in January of the Board of Directors of the District appointing him/her and serves for a period of one year from the date of appointment or until a successor has been duly appointed and qualified.

The Board of Directors appoint a Secretary-Manager to manage CB Hydropower in the manner that they prescribe.  The Directors also appoint a Treasurer who, under the direction of the Board of Directors and the Secretary-Manager, manages and safeguards the public funds that CB Hydropower handles.

Certain provisions of state law specify how the Board of Directors, Secretary-Manager and Treasurer are to operate the business.  The 1982 Agreement creating the Grand Coulee Project Hydroelectric Authority, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission licenses, power purchase agreements, and other agreements with federal and state agencies also specify certain requirements and duties of the Board of Directors, the Secretary-Manager, and the Treasurer. 

Most other administrative functions are delegated to the Secretary-Manager by the Board of Directors.

Regular Board Meetings are held the fourth Tuesday of each month.